2020 going the distance for brain injury honoreesThe Memorial Day Run has traditionally honored an individual affected by brain injury who exemplified the same courage and determination that Amy Thompson demonstrated after her brain injury. We are proud to uphold this tradition. 

The 2020 Going the Distance for Brain Injury Honoree is Terri Kern.


 Going The Distance: Walk for Thought Honoree

Unique for this year, the Brain Injury Association of Kansas and Greater Kansas City has selected Rachel Stotler Clasemann, a TBI survivor, as our “Walk-for-Thought” Honoree. The Walk-for-Thought is a 1.5 mile walk offered at the “Going the Distance” for Brain Injury Run/Benefit. The walk is attended by many brain injury survivors and their family members. Rachel was nominated by a friend and fellow classmate of the Occupational Therapy program at Rockhurst University in Kansas City, MO. Click here for Rachel’s story:

Past Honoree's
1993-Tricia Thompson* 
1994-Casey Powers 
1995-Josepha Mosley 
1996-Karen Dionne 
1997-Terry Cheyney 
1998-Laurie Williams 
1999 -Suzanne Dotson 
2000-Patricia Mendenhall 
2001-Pat Poull 
2002-Hubert Feuerborn 
2003-Tony Zink 
2004-Mark Dmytrk 
2005-Chad Myers 
2006-Ben Avery 
2007-Nicole Turner 
2008-Scott Ward 
2009-Chad Grotewiel 
2010-Jake Clough* 
2011-Kevin Walker 
2012 Avery Schieszer 
2013-Dustin Criscione* 
2014 Katie Zemel 
2015-David Haydon 
2016-James McGinnis 
2017-Zeke Crozier 
2018-Alanna Seymour
2019-Steve Zink